Around the corner

I think I’ve finally made it.

For the past several weeks, I’ve been desperately battling a yearning to be “normal” and drink like normal people.  Once again I’ve proven myself incapable of doing this.  I have a hangover today – it’s not the worst I’ve ever had, but it’s there.  I fell down the stairs last night and have a massive bruise on my bum and have hurt my elbow.  In the past few weeks I’ve been telling myself that drinking is the only “fun” I have in my life.  

And in one way, it’s true; I’m pretty much doing nothing but run around after family, and it’s boring.  Drinking, at least, made me feel like I was doing something, because, and let’s face it, it’s fun getting a bit squiffy.  Obviously though, I go well beyond squiffy.  

So several times over the past few weeks I have woken up and sworn that was it:  no more drinking.  And it lasted for 3 or 4 days, but then I would tell myself that I just wouldn’t drink as much as I had the other night, and started it up again.

Today feels different though.  I feel like I’m done, and I’ve turned the corner.  I’m looking forward to a clean life again.

Leave a comment